See It/Don’t See It If: Baby Driver

 

20170622_185114

“We could drive back and forth across the country and never run out of ‘Baby’ songs.”

 

I was privileged enough to see an advanced screening of Baby Driver last week and let me tell you, this is a damn good movie. On average, I probably see a movie a week (sometimes 2 if I am feeling greedy), and this, by far, has been my favorite movie this year.  There is so much to like about this film.  Without trying to spoil this film for anyone else, I have listed my reasons for why you should SEE this movie:

  1.  The Soundtrack: Have you ever watched a film without listening to the musical score/soundtrack?  Try it sometime when you’re at home.  Music greatly changes the energy of a movie, and the soundtrack for Baby Driver is no exception.
  2. The Action Sequences:  As I am sure you can tell by the commercials or any synopsis you have read, Doc (Kevin Spacey) regularly assembles teams to commit heists but always keeps one constant – Baby (Ansel Elgort). The audience witnesses several adrenaline-inducing, heart-pumping sequences that will have you on the edge of your seat…and all complete with a soundtrack, of course. 😉
  3. The Cast:  Bravo to anyone involved with casting in this film.  Everyone shines from top to bottom.  I was perhaps most impressed by Jon Hamm, who plays Buddy. (Sidebar: What do Jon Hamm fans call themselves?  I hope they have a clever name like Hammerheads, Hamm Sandwiches, or something.)
  4. The Story:  Edgar Wright wrote & directed this film (although I believe the late Jan Kerouac wrote the novel back in the 80’s?), and I was hooked from start to finish.  The whole movie flows very well, has a nice balance of heart & action, and I was extremely invested in multiple characters.

This film has been getting rave reviews, and it isn’t hard to see why.  Some girls will flock to see this because of Ansel Elgort, others are loyal Spacey fans, and perhaps the Hammer Pants will come out (I think I like that name best)…but you should absolutely see this because it is an incredible film.  If you do see it and don’t like it, please tell me why!

XOXO

Fangirl

Leave a Reply

