See It/Don’t See It If…Despicable Me 3

DespicableMe3

Minions!

On June 28, a friend of mine took me to see an advanced screening of Despicable Me 3 (I know, I am super delayed right now with my posting…working on it!).  I may be an adult, but I’m all for a great animated film.  I do have a confession to make – as much as I have heard about the Despicable Me franchise (and have ridden the Minions ride @ Universal Studios), I actually haven’t seen any of the other movies (cue gasps).  I am pretty much reviewing this as a stand alone film (which any great movie should be able to do), and can give you no comparison to the other films, so here we go.

Basic synopsis: Gru (Steve Carell, the newest member of the silver fox club) finds out he has a half-brother, Dru (both parents got to keep one child in the settlement, and as Gru’s mom states, she chose second. Rude), who wants Gru & his family to visit him on the island where he runs the family business – pig farming (I’m sure you can guess this is a front).  Dru wants Gru to teach him everything Gru knows about being a villain. Dru has some super high-tech stuff, and Gru realizes he can use this equipment to get back an amazing pink diamond from Balthazar Bratt (voiced by Trey Parker).  Bratt wants the diamond so that he can fuel his personal machine to take over the Hollywood.  Also, Agnes goes searching for a unicorn, and the minions want to be villains, not good guys, so they go on strike.  I think that about covers it.

See It If…

  1. You have children.    All of the children in the audience were laughing and having a blast.  They will enjoy it.
  2. You have seen the other films.  Several adults sitting near me sans kids were also getting a kick out of Gru & Dru’s antics.  Although one of them gave me a rundown of what I should know before the film started, I didn’t find the movie as humorous as they did.  I strongly believe this is because they were extremely invested in the characters from what they learned in the previous films.
  3. You love minions.  Though they don’t play an extremely large role in this film, the moments they are on-screen are fun.

Don’t See It If…

  1. You haven’t seen the other films.  This film seems more like a part of a series (which it is) than something that stands on its own.  The story was easy enough to follow, but as someone who hasn’t seen the past films, I just wasn’t as entertained.

Despicable Me 3 is already playing in theaters and won the box office last weekend.  It will most likely be dethroned by Spider-Man: Homecoming (more on that later), but should, along with Cars 3, continue to bring in the families.

XOXO

Fangirl

 

 

Leave a Reply

